5th Annual Harry Hawkins Award Presentation Set For December 7th

Ceremony to be held at The Saginaw Club

    icon Nov 13, 2023
    icon 0 Comments

The fifth annual Harry Hawkins Award presentation will be held Thursday, December 7th, 2023, at the Saginaw Club.

 The Heisman Trophy-like award, which debuted in 2019, recognizes the top senior football player in Saginaw County. The Saginaw Club is the presenting sponsor of the award in conjunction with the MLive Media Group.

 Finalists include Braylon Isom of Heritage High School, Preston Otter of Nouvel Catholic Central High School, and Samual Talaga of Freeland High School. A scholarship of $3,000 will be presented to the winner, with the runners up receiving $1,500 each. The award is based on athletic achievement on the gridiron (50 percent), Community Service (25 percent) and Grade-Point-Average (25 percent).

 Other nominees included Braden Bila, St. Charles High School, Zio Black, Bridgeport High School, Michael Clare, Valley Lutheran High School, Markwe Heard, Saginaw United High School, Carson Koehler, Michigan Lutheran Seminary, Kentae Longuemire, Carrollton High School, Colin Main, Frankenmuth High School, Ethan Mason, Heritage High School, Joey Miller, Swan Valley High School, Jack Rich, Frankenmuth High School, Ty Robertson, Heritage High School, Zach Seidel, Hemlock High School, Frank Stevens, Birch Run High School, Keighan Stoddard, Chesaning High School, and Grant Vedrode, Merrill High School.

 The Hawkins award is named in honor of former Arthur Hill High School and University of Michigan gridiron standout Harry Hawkins, the first All-America football player from Saginaw County.

Hawkins was also a track standout at Michigan where he captured both the Big Ten and National Championships in the hammer throw. Hawkins, an engineer and executive in the automotive industry, is a former Saginaw Club member.

 Previous Hawkins award winners include Brady Devereaux of Hemlock High School (2019), Christopher Parker of Heritage High School (2020) and Cole Lindow of Frankenmuth High School (2021), and Gabe Blanchard of Freeland High School (2022).

 The ceremony will be held at the Saginaw Club’s third-floor ballroom. A social hour begins at 6 p.m. and the award presentation starting promptly at 7 p.m. The cost to attend is $20; hors d’oeuvres will be served and a cash bar will be available. To RSVP, please call the Saginaw Club at (989) 754-8404.

The historic Saginaw Club is located at 219 N. Washington Ave. in downtown Saginaw. 

For more information, please contact Jack Tany at (989) 737-4725.            

Share on:

Comments (0)

icon Login to comment